dear Readers: I may be ending this WP blog

Dear readers,

Thank you all for coming to this blog.  I get thousands of views every week, more than I ever imagined when I first started writing about this amazing website–indeed, phenomenon–called YouTube.

I have been considering a very difficult decision:  I may end this WordPress blog and start a new blog–The Utube Blog 2.0, if you will–on Typepad software.  If I do decide to switch, the old posts will remain parked here, and there will be a different URL for the the new blog, which won’t look like this one. 

Why change blogs?:  WordPress doesn’t allow embedding of all video players.  In fact, WordPress only allows a few:   Google Video, Youtube, DailyMotion, Grouper, Odeo, and SplashCast.  But there are many more video sites with amazing video content–more and more in high def–that I can’t include in this blog.  The quality of several of these other video sites is absolutely breathtaking, so I feel there’s a gaping hole in my coverage.  I hate to leave this site after I’ve churned out so many posts on WordPress, but I feel very behind the times on WordPress.  I want to be able to show you all the latest cutting-edge video capabilities, but I can’t do it on WordPress.

I’ve already tried other ways to keep my blog the same.  I hired a hosting service to transfer my WordPress blog there, which would give me complete freedom to embed whatever I want.  The hosting service, however, made the switch, but it looked terrible.  It wasn’t the same design as my original blog, and the customer service basically told me to figure out what to do myself.  The switch also erased all of the hundreds, if not thousands, of videos embedded in my old posts. I realized immediately the hosting service was terrible, and the switch to a third party hosting company would not solve my problem.

So when will I switch my blog to TypePad?  Probably soon, perhaps first on a 1 month trial basis.  This site will still be up here, but I won’t make any new posts on this blog.  I still haven’t decided to switch, but, if I do, I will include the forwarding address to the new blog.  And, of course, I hope you follow me to the new blog.

Give me your suggestions:  I’m also open to your suggestions.  Please comment if you have any reactions, or you can email me at utubeblog [at] gmail.com.

Thank you.

One Response to dear Readers: I may be ending this WP blog

  1. Mary says:

    Um, Why!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

